Hello world!

Welcome to my little piece of cyberspace! Finally, I have a blog after all this time. Pull up a chair, get comfy, and please don’t forget the glass of sweet tea or whatever you like to drink as you read. You’ll find my thoughts and musings on a variety of subjects. It took me quite a while to do this blog and keep technologically current with my literary colleagues, but I hope it will be worth the wait. For those who know me, know I like to keep it real. This is reality blogging. There’s a lot on my mind these days, so I will be blogging quite regularly. This one,though, will be short. Before I sign off, I want to remind you to sign up and vote for the candidate of your choice. Many of our ancestors fought and died for the right to vote. As a little girl, I remember going to the poll with my mother and watching her endure racism in all forms as she went to vote. She endured, stood her ground, and voted. So when I was 18, the first thing I did was register and VOTE! I’ll tell anyone who’ll listen that Barack Obama is my choice for president. I only wish my parents were alive to see a black man get as far as he has in his quest for the White House. They’d be elated and so proud. Indeed, we’ve come a long way as a people and since their migration up North from the South. Just the thought of it all made me cry as Obama made history with his acceptance speech. What a night, and what a memory.

On another note, my heart is saddened over the loss of a journalism colleague, Elisa Keys. I just learned of her untimely death a few minutes ago. She was only 45 years old with a birthday coming up in two weeks. All I can say is that she was a lovely person, a passionate journalist who loved her career. I am sorry for her loss.

If you love someone, say so. Tell that person while he can still hear it. Tomorrow’s not promised to anyone. That is becoming more truer than ever these days as so many young people are dying like never before. Live your dreams and make yourself happy. Don’t depend on others to do it. Live each day like it’s your last; one day it will be! Bottom line: live your life to the fullest!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a comment